Return to the Fireplaces Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Can I leave a pellet stove running 24/7?

Posted by deborella (My Page) on
Sat, Feb 5, 05 at 4:56

Hi, I am completely new to heating with wood and I just installed a Quadra Fire Castille pellet stove and am wondering how safe it is to leave it running when I am not home?? I have heard there is very little danger of fire (outside of the firebox of course) but am nervous to leave a fire unattended and wondered if any other pellet users do this?

It seems like a hassle and not very effective to turn it off when I leave and have to restart when I come back home. I notice that the wall the stove is venting out of is warm but not hot. It does have a wall shield around the pipe. The stove is direct vented out a side wall and seems to have no problems with draw etc.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Can I leave a pellet stove running 24/7?

Pellet stoves are designed for 24/7 operation. Just make sure you keep up with routine cleaning and maintenance as suggested by the manufacturer.

There is a danger with any appliance that produces heat - cooking stove, dryer, furnace, or pellet stove but if you follow the safety procedures outlined in the instruction manual 24/7 is no problem.

If you are new at heating with wood or pellets and have a new stove I would run it for a couple weeks only when your home to become familiar with its operation just to make sure there are no problems with the stove and/or the installation.

This is just my opinion - do what you are comfortable with. No outing will be fun is you are worried about the stove running -

o

I always ran my Harman 24/7. I would run it for weeks without shutting it off.

o
pellet stove 'logs'

Does anyone have the "logs" that can be added to a pellet stove for esthetic effect? I am thinking about getting the set that are made for the Quadra Fire to add to the visual appeal. Also, if you have them, do you have to remove them before cleaning the stove each time?

o