Return to the Household Finances Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Is it finally worth refinancing?

Posted by jbspook (My Page) on
Thu, Dec 4, 08 at 16:13

We purchased our home in 2004 with a 7/1 ARM at 5.25% through Countrywide. We plan to stay at least 10-15 more years. Right now 30-year fixed loan rates are at 5.25%. Is it finally time to refinance, or should I wait to see if rates will go even lower?

Some background - our house has just barely increased in value, but enough so refinancing shouldn't be a problem. I am a person who craves security, which is why I've been watching rates like a hawk ever since we financed with an ARM. I got the longest ARM I could when we bought, but I just don't feel comfortable with an adjustable rate. Of course, we have 3 more years before our payments would change.

Would love to hear your thoughts.

Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Is it finally worth refinancing?

I'm no expert...but personally, I would refinance while you can. My husband and I waited, and now our house is worth less than what we owe, so we can't refinance (and we're in a 5/1 ARM, with 2 years left before our payments change).

Personally, I'd take the safer route now and pay a little more for the monthly mortgage bill for the next 3 years on the fixed rate mortgage, then continue to stick with the ARM, and possibly find yourself in a situation where you really are stuck with it.

And how sure are you that your house has increased or held steady in value? When we spoke to the loan officer yesterday, he told us that appraisals are largely based on home sales within a certain distance from your home in the last two month period. Unfortunately for us, homes in our area have dropped by about $150 - $200k below what we purchased at (about 40%). So...we're screwed. This is the tool he showed us for checking recent comps.

o