Return to the Household Finances Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Tax deductions for donations

Posted by gammyt (My Page) on
Wed, Oct 22, 08 at 15:09

I looked on the IRS web site and couldn't find the answer to my question.

Our income this year will be lucky to be $60,000. How much would we have to donate to take a deduction on April 15th?

Say I donated a vehicle before April 15th that has blue book of $1000 and the charity sold it for $500. I could take the $500 as a deduction.

Would that give me anything back on next years taxes and if so how much?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Tax deductions for donations

I am not a tax expert but, as I understand the tax code, you are entitled to a "standard deduction" for donations. I do not remember how that is determined -- probably a percent of your AGI, adjust gross income. You do not need to prove donations to take standard deduction. So, you need to figure out what your standard deduction will be -- you can estimate it. Then figure whether the deduction for the car donation exceeds the standard deduction. If your standard deduction is higher, you might as well sell the car for whatever instead of donate it, and save yourself the trouble of proving the value of the donation, which can get complicated.

You can phone the IRS 800#. If you catch them at a time when they're not too busy, and you're lucky enough to get a knowledgeable person to take your question, you might get a more complete answer to your question. But don't count on it -- some of the people who answer the phone will just read to you the pertinent tax code rule, which you can do yourself from their website.

Some tax accountants who have done my returns take a very conservative position and advise not to take certain deductions even if you are entitled to them if the amount of money you save is small and if it increases a chance that the return will be audited. I agree with that.

o