SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
goldy_gw

Fur coat Insurance

goldy
20 years ago

I have three fur coats that I have been paying insurance on for 15 years.Since the coats have out lived their ten year life Span should I continue to pay this insurance? I would like a quick answer the bill is due next month.Goldy

Comments (31)

• maxwell
    20 years ago

Why not donate them to the church rummage sale and get the tax write-off?

• cowboyind
    20 years ago

Call your insurance agent and ask whether your policy covers the furs at replacement cost, or whether you'd just get their current market value. If all you'd get is the market value, it's doubtful that the insurance makes sense at this point; on the other hand, if this policy covers replacement cost, the insurance might be worthwhile. You just have to look at what the insurance is costing you next to what they'd pay out to you if the furs were stolen or destroyed, and make a judgment as to whether you'd rather assume the risk yourself or pay an insurance company to assume it for you.

• Related Discussions

Old Fur Coats

Q

Comments (9)
    Check out Etsy. Do a search there for "vintage fur". It seems people are both selling vintage fur and also making things from it. Maybe list them there to sell, or contact one of the people who make things with fur to see if they want to buy them from you. It really depends if they are in good shape as garments. Maybe you can even combine the furs with each other or with other fabric or leather to make a coat that fits you. Karin L Here is a link that might be useful: Etsy - vintage and crafters marketplace
    ...See More

Turning fur coat (astrakan) into a throw?

Q

Comments (4)
    Google recycling a fur coat, or making a throw from a fur coat. Here's a site I found: Here is a link that might be useful: sew a fur coat blanket
    ...See More

Designers selling coats with dog fur trim

Q

Comments (8)