Return to the Household Finances Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
I need financial advice!

Posted by jennmonkey (My Page) on
Tue, Jul 26, 05 at 22:06

Okay, here is my story. I have about 60k in student loan debt becuase I got my BA from a private university (big mistake #1). 20k of that is federal loans, which is not the problem. 40k is in private loans (big mistake #2), which are becoming the problem. The company the private loans are through are terrible. Part of the problem is that I can only get in-school deferrment while I'm paying the interest off first (I would like to go back for a masters, am working in social work and making little money). The private loan company has been sending me payment schedules for the last 4 years, since I graduated. They all said I would be paying the interest only until 2008, then my payments would start going up very steeply (at the end of the loan, they are almost $800/month). Well, I had always planned to go back to school before 2008 and hopefully make more money to make the loan payments. So, here's the problem; I received another loan repayment schedule this month that says my payments go up (and am done with interest) next year, oct. 06. I call them and they basically say "too bad, we were wrong for the last 4 years, your payments go higher next year".