SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
jockewing

The Hiring Process - slightly OT

jockewing
12 years ago

I hope someone can reassure me that I might still have a chance for this job! I have had 2 interviews with a very well respected company for a job that I really really want. I work as an accountant/auditor and had been working for a bank when it was acquired and my job eliminated. I was driving an hour each way through traffic to get to this job. When it became apparent that my job might be coming to an end, I started putting out resumes and filling out applications.

I found the posting for this job and was immediately intrigued. It is for a very well respected company and most importantly, is located only 5 minutes from my house! No more two hours a day in the car! Two months or more passed between the time when I applied and they finally called me for an interview. Honestly I had pretty much given up hope on the job at that point and was quite suprised when they called.

I did well at the interview and spoke with the person that would be my immediate supervisor and another manager. About two weeks later, I was again called for a second interview to meet with the VP of the finance division. The interview went great and I was given the distinct impression that I had the job. It did not seem like they were considering any other candidates, and the VP was talking as if I already had the job, saying things like "when you are here please feel free to come talk to me at any time", "once you are in the position, don't be afraid to express interest in other areas if something looks like a good fit for you", etc. It was totally a "when you are here" instead of "if you are here". She said she needed to meet with her boss to get all the red tape completed and hoped to see him later that day and stated she'd be sure to get back to me by the end of that week.