Return to the Household Finances Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Thinking about starting my own business

Posted by pondpal (My Page) on
Thu, Jun 22, 06 at 12:42

I have been thinking about starting my own kind of trash to treasure business, and would appreciate any advise you all could offer.
What I'm thinking is to buy stuff at auctions and sales, redo them, and sell them on ebay. I am a decent painter, and have had a craft business before. Although that one was busy at first,it was in a location where it couldn't have survived long term.(very small town).
I'm wondering if you all think a person could sell enough of this kind of stuff to make a good income?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Thinking about starting my own business

Depends on where you live, I guess. Do you have a lot of competition in this area? Is the area relatively well-insulated from economic ups and downs, since that kind of item is likely one of the first to be removed from the budget (if it ever makes it into the budget)?

There are lots of resources on the Web and in your local library about how to start your own business and some of the rewards and financial pitfalls you may encounter. You'll want to create a business plan to identify anything that hasn't been thought through enough. And you will do yourself a favor by being mercilessly honest about your prospects in your geographic area and what you might offer customers that others don't or can't.

o

Have you found stuff on eBay similar to what you think that you might be able to produce, and at a price that you would find attractive? Would there be major issues over packaging and shipping that might detract from the enthusiasm of potential purchasers?

Do you propose to do this full-time, or part-time for at least a period of time?

Do you have enough surplus resources to keep not only the business, including vehicle but your home and table afloat for a year or more? Including shoes for the kids.