Return to the Household Finances Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Cash Out Refinance Is this a good idea?

Posted by jetson930 (My Page) on
Thu, Apr 2, 09 at 10:15

This is my first time posting here but Im confused about refinancing. I know this is a long, complicated questions, but I hope someone can help me with a good answer.

First, I just refinanced my mortgage in February. My mortgage balance is approximately $91,500 at 5% for 30 years. My house was appraised at $176,000. I have owned my house for 8 years and I have no plans of moving. I am paying extra principal with each payment and, at the rate of my current payment, my mortgage will be paid off in 19 years 6 months. At the time I refinanced, my idea was to get the amount of my mortgage as low as possible. It seemed to make sense at the time. I also have a home equity line of credit of about $2,800 with a current rate of 3.25%. I am paying $100 a month on the home equity.

Currently, my car is 11 years old and my plan was to start saving for a new car (probably a newer used car) in the future. Im estimating $20,000 for a car, or maybe less for a good used car. I have about $3,500 saved for a car purchase so far. I do not have any other debt such as credit cards, etc. Right now I couldnt afford a car payment in addition to my payments on my mortgage and home equity unless I pay off my home equity with my savings and quit paying extra on my mortgage, which I really dont want to do. (Yes, I do have other investments but I dont want to touch those, especially in this economy.)