Return to the Household Finances Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Surprise taxes?

Posted by nycefarm (My Page) on
Wed, Mar 28, 07 at 20:39

Just trying to work out in my head an issue that just came up. With an investment account, (not retirement, 401 or IRA) like Vanguard, if you cash out a portion, what is the obligation to pay taxes on it? Presumably the money (principle?) was taxed before it ever went in to the account. I understand there is a tax consequence on capitol gains or dividends, but this is neither.
I know the IRS isn't infallable, could this just be a stupid mistake on their part?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Surprise taxes?

I'm no tax expert. But.... the money you put into the account was after taxes, right?
If so, my understanding is that all you owe are taxes on the capital gains....

Not sure what you mean by "presumably the money was taxed before it went into the account"....
Don't you know?

o

You will owe taxes on the dividends or interest the account earned, and capital gains if you have sold the shares.

o

If you own mutual funds through Vanguard (as opposed to stocks that might have been purchased elsewhere and transferred to their brokerage account), and it's in a taxable account (i.e. not IRA, 401(k), etc)., then the periodic statements you get from them will tell you what to report on your tax forms--assuming that you use the same accounting method as they do.

Here is a link that might be useful: Information about Vanguard's tax forms

o

Ok. Not sure I am understanding your question. If you buy Mutual Fund V and spend 10k for 100 shares. And then you sell 50 shares for 20k because the value went up, you would pay taxes on 20k - 5k (your basis in the shares) = 15k. So you would pay capital gains (depending on how long held) on 15k. If you sold 50 shares for 5k which is the same as your basis you would pay nothing but you would have to fill out a tax form to show them your basis.