Return to the Household Finances Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
what to do about taxes, please help!

Posted by vacuumfreak (My Page) on
Mon, Feb 26, 07 at 17:23

Hi there. I am truly shocked. I just went to H and R block and they told me the fees for doing taxes start at 85 dollars and go up. They said they wouldn't be able to tell me how much it would cost until they finished the process and the computers told them the fee to charge me. I used H and R Block 4 years ago and the fee was only 25 dollars. What happened? In the meanwhile, I was dating an accountant so my there hasn't been an monetary fee for doing my taxes the past few years. I have 3 W-2 forms and no deductions and made about 21,000 dollars last year, so it should be easy enough for a 10-40 EZ form. There is only one problem... I'm an off and on student and last January I received a grant for $946.00 I don't know how to put that in (I think I've decided to turbo tax it myself, but I don't see where students can put their information)... do I just count that as extra income when I claim it? What happened to tax fee prices in the past few years? Last year I got back $1500.00 with a personal accountant, so far turbo tax says I am getting back $300.00 and I made the same amount of money both years! I live in Florida if that makes a difference... I'm 23 y/o single male living on my own. Please help me, and thank you!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: what to do about taxes, please help!

$85 is outragous to charge for a 1040EZ form. You can do it yourself.
Whether or not you have to list the grant depends on the circumstances. You may not even have to disclose it
see
http://www.irs.gov/businesses/small/international/article/0,,id=106193,00.html

you can do it online fee at turbotax.com

Good luck!

o

vauumfreak,

If you're with others in the education milieu, are there others near who have had similar grant? And know how it relates to tax liability?