Return to the Household Finances Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Turbotax versus CPA

Posted by victory_tea2085 (My Page) on
Tue, Jan 9, 07 at 1:44

We have a baby whom we love dearly. He has some health problems, medical bills are adding up, and childcare is costing us more than we have. My wife is a registered nurse making 45,000 and I work in the health industry, making 36,000 . My question- do you think we would be better off going to an accountant ( given our new status as "long form" taxpayers), or would we do as well with turbotax? My wife claims that, although we pay 7000 in childcare, we can only claim 3000 of it. We need to get the best refund we can get to stay afloat- man, things are getting tough for the working class. Thanks to all who reply. Paul

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Turbotax versus CPA

My humble opinion is that TurboTax (or TaxCut, a competing product which I prefer) is a better bet -- if you're willing to put some time into it and if you get the package that includes your state tax, too (assuming your state collects income tax). The main reason why is that an accountant is going to be swamped and will only spend so long on your return, while, with a tax program, you can run the numbers as many times as you like, whenever you like. Trying different things, like filing individually, takes only a little time, while the accountant would (rightfully) charge you for the time it takes him or her to use his/her computer program.

The tax software also can prompt you for deductions or to check expenses and you can leave your chair to get the info you need. The CPA would have to ask him/herself if this could apply to you, decide that it does, call you for the info, and have you get it back to him/her for further processing. I simply think the tax software is much more flexible. You'd have to find a CPA with real expertise in your particular areas of interest before you'd come out ahead.

o