Return to the Exercise & Nutrition Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Just joined a gym...have questions

Posted by Marie26 (My Page) on
Sat, Dec 10, 05 at 18:40

This is my first time on this forum but I hope you can help me. I have about 25-30 pounds to lose and joined a gym today.

I am confused about which digital information I should be focusing on. Should it be the distance, the calories burned or the time spent on the machines at the gym? And why?

What about drinking water while at the gym? How much should I be drinking during the workout?

How often should I be going each week? Howlong each time (or is it better to focus on the distance or calories - back to the original question)?

I am determined to stick with this. I just started a job and I work until 4:00 each day so I plan to go to the gym directly after work.

Any advice you can give me is greatly appreciated. TIA

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Just joined a gym...have questions

I usually go to the gym 3 days a week.I work out for 2 hours each time.I do weights and some ab work for an hour and then walk on the treadmill for almost an hour.I try to burn at least 800 calories while walking.I drink about 16 oz. of water while there.This is just things I do myself,not something I was told to do.You should try to go at least 3 days a week.I would'nt worry too much at first about time or calories.Do what you can but don't overdo it.Gradually build up to more as you feel able.I have been going to my gym for over a year and can definitely do a lot more than when I started.

o

Focus on building up the distance you walk, or the weight and reps on the machines. 3-5 times a week, alternating between something distance and something muscle-building.

Start light, and just keep pushing yourself.

Drink ample water ... at least a quart of it after the workout, or you will have more soreness than usual.

o