Return to the Exercise & Nutrition Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
starting pilates

Posted by noexcusesthistime (My Page) on
Mon, Dec 23, 02 at 11:40

I just bought the winsor pilates 3 tape set (ebay - only $39 and shipped in two days - infomercial is 4-6 weeks).
Anyway, looking for some encouragement on using these consistently and getting results. Any pilates success stories out there?? I have most of my fat around my middle thanks to two kids in two years and 85 pound weight gain.

Any responses would be appreciated! THANKS!!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: starting pilates

noexcuses.
Best advice I can give:

When I started in March of 2002, I looked like a total dork doing even the modified beginner version of the moves.

It wasn't long until I started seeing definition in my abs (which, even at my lowest weight I never had). Now, 9 months later, I am still no pro but then I joined with bad tendonitis in my abs, so I still do about half modified moves, and half normal moves.

But I look like an intermediate now (not pro yet but soon!) and to think how dorky I was in the beginning! That phase didn't last long!

Other advice I can give:
If you can't do the whole tape daily, at least do your 100's and leg circles every day if nothing else. This keeps those abs at the ready, and progressing, and the next time you do the whole routine, your muscles will be ready to progress to the next level.

By the way, pilates got me past my tendonitis when nothing else has worked!

o

Hi Karen,
I don't have the Windsor Pilates tapes, I just bought the one from Ana Caban....do you know anything about it? Just wondering if I should buy the Windsor set instead......
Thanks,
Meg

o

Meg, i just the one by Ana Caban,the beginning mat workout. Does anyone have this? Just curious, as i have never did pilates before.
I posted last week, asking if anyone had the Denise Austin stretch and tone pilate system. I got no response, so i guess no one has it or knows anything about it.