Return to the Exercise & Nutrition Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Yoga Question

Posted by MarionR (My Page) on
Tue, Nov 5, 02 at 22:28

I just bought these yoga tapes from Target and I am wondering if anyone else has bought yoga tapes or done yoga and what they felt afterwards. Any experiences you would like to share would be helpful. Also does it help you lose weight like they say? Or at least relax you and help you live stress free? TIA
Jennifer

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Yoga Question

Hi Jennifer. I've been doing yoga for several years. Living out in the boonies, tapes and books were my only options until last year when the local rec cen offered classes....taught by a woman who had learned from tapes herself.

I started with Hatha, then started adding power yoga. Practicing either will help you strengthen, releive stress and improve your posture. But for me, I had to add the power yoga in order to see any weight loss. You may not need to.

How do I feel afterwards? Both relaxed and energized. Just good. The benifits are immediate, which makes it easy to get off your butt then next day and do it again.

The long term benifits are also worth while. Balance, flexability, coordination and better reflexes to go along with those long, lean muscles.

Last summer at a family reunion I challenged all my little neices and nephews (ages 3-16) to a 'stand on one foot' contest. I am 39. They hopped on one foot, had their arms flying all over the place and droppped out one by one as I stood perfectly still, my left foot raised up and pressed into my right thigh. They were flabbergasted, as were my siblings. I was smug. I also offered $5 to any of them who could "sit like me". But not one of those strong yung'uns could get themselves into a full lotus position.