Return to the Exercise & Nutrition Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Anyone running?

Posted by
Heidi
(heidigreenlaw@hotmail.com) on
Mon, Jun 4, 01 at 12:43

I noticed that there was a thread like this a while back and hasn't been posted to in a while. Let's start a new one!

I'm doing the "couch to 5k" program at kicksport.com so I'm really a beginner but am really enjoying it so far. I've only done the treadmill so far because (1) I only seem to get to run at about 9 p.m. and (2) I think the neighbors would die if they saw me outside jogging!! LOL

I'd love to hear from others, beginners, experts and everyone in between. How are you doing? How long have you been running? How long before you saw phsyical changes in your body? Do you run on a treadmill, road? Do you run races or just for fun and exercise?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Anyone running?

I too wanted to start running. I ran a lot during the summer...up to 45 min i was very proud of myself because before that i couldn't run more than 5-10 min without stopping.

Now i sort of do a mix between walking and running around my town...i take a walkman with me. To be honest i found a new way to keep focused. I have a treadmill on my third floor, and there's a VCR up there, so i put on an interesting "motivational" movie...whatever your favorite movie is put it in and keep your eyes on the screen. I know that's probably not a good thing to do but before i knew it i had been jogging for 15 min and i wasn't aware of fatigue. I didn't overdo myself though...be sure to listen to your body. I just think staying motivated with good music or something will keep you going.

I'm just getting back into the groove with my healthy eating and regular physical activity. I usually feel very refreshed after I run, although sometimes my shins hurt very much. I know diet has a ton to do with how you lose weight or shape your body...whatever your goal is. So keep it up and let me know if you come across anything that might be useful.