Return to the Exercise & Nutrition Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
10,000 steps ???????

Posted by Josigirl_WI (My Page) on
Mon, Jan 20, 03 at 21:16

Is anyone familiar with the 10,000 step program? It's something like they (surgeon general) said you have to have 10,000 steps a day not to be classified as sedentary. So I bought a pedometer and to my surprise I was almost 12,000 a day. I work in retail so I seldom sit I'm sure in an office job it would be different. So I guess my question is should I shoot for 20,000 to make a difference or do you think it really counts for anything? Your opinions please...

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: 10,000 steps ???????

I saw an article in the paper the other day about this, also! And it occurred to me that I sit far too much! Now, on the weekends, that's a different story. But just yesterday I made a personal committment to always park at the end of the parking lot whenever I go to work or run errands!

Only problem so far is when I got to work this morning, it's too dark at this hour, and I was a bit afraid to park out there! But when I go to the bank at lunch I am definitely going to find the furthest parking spot when I return.

o

It makes a difference if you increase your activity.

I happened to be in a weight control study when I moved, and was weighed daily at work (scales covered, only the researcher saw what we weighed). I went from a 3rd-floor walkup a block from work to a 3rd-floor walkup several blocks further from work. Until my body re-established the intake/output balance I lost about 5 pounds in a couple of weeks. Then I ate a lot more for a few days, gained the weight back, and the eating pattern settled down to normal again.

o