Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
snickerdoodle564

Etiquette Questions

snickerdoodle564
16 years ago

My mom turns 50 this January, and I wanted to have a small celebration in her honor. I don't have the room in my apartment to entertain her friends, nor do I (a "career-less" college senior) have the funds to rent or cater an event. If I were to invite her friends to dinner at a local restaurant's banquet/party room, would I be expected to pay for everyone's dinner? I was planning on putting "No presents, please" on the invitation (come to think of it, is the "no presents" line rude?). My mom's friends are all very laid back and fun, but I don't want to run the risk of making her look like she didn't raise a polite daughter, well versed in etiquette! Thank you so much for your help!

Comments (6)

• sue36
    16 years ago

I faced the same issue when I was your age (I was a college sophomore), except it was my parents 25th anniversary. I couldn't fit everyone in my place and it isn't proper to invite someone to a party and then expect them to pay for their own meal (that answers one of your questions), so I hosted it at my parent's house. I had friends of theirs invite them out for something, to get them out of the house, and then I stormed in with my aunt and we got everything ready for when the guests arrived. I made most of the food offsite and brought it in. My father was in on it (at the last minute, because he balked about the activity the friends planned), but my mother was surprised. Maybe you could do something like that? Now, I wouldn't normally take over someone's house without their permission to have a party for them, but I think children are given some leeway on this with their parents. This only works if the house is kept relatively clean and neat because you are only going to have 2-4 hours to pull it off.