Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
poolowner

retirement party, who hosts?

poolowner
16 years ago

question on retirement party. Stupid question but I will ask anyway. Who should "throw" a party for someone who retired. Husband/wife of retiree or children of retiree?

Comments (8)

• lindac
    16 years ago

Anyone who wants to....but most often it's the employer on the last day of work....but often there is a bigger bash thrown by the retiree...and/or the spouse.
    Linda C

• cheerful1_gw
    16 years ago

poolowner: it's a good question. My husband is eligible for retirement next year, and I want to throw him a party. My question is, who do I invite so it doesn't get out of hand?

• sudiepav
    16 years ago

What a great question! I've been pondering this for a couple of years. I'm a teacher, retiring in June '09. Typically, at our school, good friends of the retiree plan a party, send out flyers and those who choose to come pay $25 a head for dinner. The entertainment is either testimonials or comedy skits. I LOATHE this and certainly want nothing of it when I retire. I am thinking of having the staff and a few other friends in education come to my house after school one day for an open house/happy hour kind of thing. I've been there too long to just sneak away without notice (my first choice), so I think I'll set it up myself and thus do what I want. I think those retiring in business have a myriad of possibilities. Someone "important" to the firm may get a big bash. In a small company, often the retiree is just taken out for dinner by close associates. I think it's all over the map. This sounds like a good topic for discussion.

• poolowner
    Original Author
    16 years ago