Return to the Entertaining Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Need menu help for Kosher house guests...

Posted by montalvo (My Page) on
Sat, Jul 21, 07 at 20:05

My husband graciously invited his NYC stockbroker to spend the night with us while the stockbroker's vacationing in California...along with his wife and six children! Yes, my first thought was divorce but I ultimately decided to tough it out. A further complication is that they're Jewish (not Orthodox) and we're not, so in preparing dinner and breakfast, I need to make some adjustments. I'm a pretty experienced cook but have never had to contend with Kosher restrictions. Can any of you offer some help? I know bacon is off limits but what other foods are taboo?

I'm Hispanic so I thought it might be fun to prepare a Mexican dinner in the spirit of a California visit. Are cheeses a problem? As far as breakfast is concerned, I have a great and easy recipe for French toast. Are coffee and orange juice safe choices? Any guidance would be appreciated.

Carol (AKA 'Naive California Gentile')

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Need menu help for Kosher house guests...

OMG...I vote for the divorce!

This link may help...but be careful even the info. in it may not be 100% accurate/correct. I've seen articles on some subjects that were just wrong. So check a few sorces or call the wife ... maybe you could order in????

Here is a link that might be useful: Kosher

o

Thanks for the help, Carla. At this point, I'm determined to prevail on this. I've tentatively put together a menu as follows:

DINNER
Salsa and corn chips
Fajitas (grilled strip steak, bell peppers, avocado, onion and tomato, wrapped in a tortilla)
Mexican rice
Refried beans (without cheese)
Wine and soft drinks

BREAKFAST
French toast topped with strawberries and maple syrup
Orange juice, milk and coffee

I saw Kosher tortillas advertised somewhere. Is that something I should worry about? Anything else look questionable?

Carol

o