Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pink_overalls

Welcome lunch for ladies

pink_overalls
14 years ago

I would like to host a small luncheon to welcome a new neighbor. I thought I would pass the idea by her first and if she is comfortable with it, ask about five or six other women neighbors who are friends of mine. I'd like it to be informal, nothing intimidating for her. My dining table is round and would be crowded with seven people, so dining would be buffet-style. I have adequate seating and end tables and such for this kind of service. I'm not very experienced at entertaining, so I have some questions:

How much advance notice is appropriate? Everyone is retired, but busy. Do I have to check with everyone's schedule before finalizing a date?

What would be an appropriate start time? Noon or earlier? Do I specify a end-of-party time on an invitation?

I know invited friends will ask what they can bring, but I like to have complete menu control. I want to be generous, and I want the food to be Just So, as in My Way. What do I politely say to gals who offer to bring something?

The menu might be a variety of three or four pretty, open faced sandwiches, sweet and unsweet iced tea, (I'm in the South, y'all), some fresh fruit, and a watermelon bombe for dessert. Feedback? Should I end with coffee as well?

Are there dietary restrictions I need to accommodate?

I'm happy to get any advice. Thanks.

Comments (9)

• gellchom
    14 years ago

It's nice of you to do this for your new neighbor, and I think it's a good idea to float the idea with her first.

How much advance notice is appropriate?

A couple of weeks is more than enough, I think.

Do I have to check with everyone's schedule before finalizing a date?

I wouldn't, with more than 3 or 4 people. It will probably be impossible to find a date that EVERYONE can make; so be it. Just pick a date that works for the guest of honor and perhaps the woman you most want her to meet, and just go with that.