Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sandy523_gw

food and beverage ideas

sandy523
16 years ago

My husband and I have remodeled an older home in a small town. He is a teacher and the house is just a block from the school. The remodel has been going on since January and everyone wants to come over and see it. I am thinking of hosting on a Friday afternoon when they all get off work, a little come see the house party. They can walk or drive down, come in and have something to drink and some finger foods or something. Very informal. I need some ideas on drinks and foods that would be ok and not too ...I don't know. I'm not really good at these sort of things so any ideas and suggestions would be great. Thanks in advance for your help!

Comments (9)

• lindac
    16 years ago

Will you be serving wine or cocktails? or strictly coffee and lemonade?
    I would offer a white or a red wine and either cokes or a fairly non sweet fruit drink.
    Then simply set out, trays of cut up veggies with dip,a cheese tray or cheese ball, some cookies or brownies and coffee.
    You could have more offerings or fewer...like just cookies and cut up fresh fruit on toothpicks.
    Decide what you want to do and then ask for recipies.
    Linda C

• khandi
    16 years ago

I wouldn't have too much "filling foods" cuz it's just before dinner time. They'll have to go home and cook for their families.

I'd just have 2-3 different bars/squares with coffee and juice. Just a little sweet something before they go for dinner.

• sandy523
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks!!

• chase_gw
    16 years ago

I agree that you should keep the nibblies light but I much prefer savory to sweets at that time of day...however that's a personal choice. If you are not used to entertaining stay away from anything hot unless you can serve it in a crockpot or chafing dish, like cocktail meatballs (have very easy recipe if you are interested)