Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gpaintjr

Geothermal system?

gpaintjr
14 years ago

We had a geothermal system put it our house in October so this is our first winter using it. Last week the temps here in N. Georgia got down to the low 20's and our system could not seem to get above 65 degrees. We set it back to 62 during the day and it comes back on at 5:00 p.m. to 68 degrees but it could never reach that temp. Is this normal???? We have LP gas as auxiliary but it is set to come when temps reach 10 degrees. Any help is appreciated.

Comments (4)

• fsq4cw
    14 years ago

No this is NOT normal!

In order to help you need to provide as much detail as you can about your system including design temperature, type, capacity, ground loop specs, flow rate, EWT & LWT etc. etc.

WhereÂs your installer in all this?

SR

• lynchnik
    14 years ago

Hi - this is our first winter using our geothermal system as well, so I am by no means an expert. However, our installers told us before we even put the system in that with a geo system, you need to get out of the habit of turning down your thermostat. The reason is that the air coming out of the vents is not nearly as hot as with other systems. It is a lower, more constant temperature. This is actually a more comfortable heat delivery than the hot blowing, followed by cold, followed by hot blowing.

However, because the air is not as hot as with traditional heaters, it is not designed to raise the temp quickly. Therefore you should not lower the thermostat when you are out of the home the way you do with a traditional system. They said you have to break this habit. This is a hard habit to break! We have been keeping our house constant for the fear that if it got too cold, we wouldn't be able to bring it up.

I will be curious to hear what other geo owners/ installers have to say.

• marknmt
    14 years ago