Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kapustak8

Geothermal heat pump: soil or pond?

coffeehaus
16 years ago

Soon to be building and planning geothermal. Our geothermal guy is interested in using our nearby pond for the heat-exchange medium, rather than laying loops in the soil. Deepest spot in the pond is about 12 ft., size around 0.75 acres. Conditioned house size around 2300 sf. We're located in central VA and are more interested in AC than heating as we will have a woodstove for the latter. Pond has been in since 2001 and has never gone dry, but this year has certainly taxed it! Anyone out there with experience using water as the heat exchanger?

Comments (5)

• marknmt
    16 years ago

"It's generally thought to be a good thing".

I would expect (I'm no engineer, so be prepared to hear better views) that the pond would carry off a lot of heat from your AC needs- but whether it was enough for all of it, I just don't know. It depends on how well the house is insulated, its exposure, the windows, the habits of the owners, how humid the summer is -just everything.

But certainly it's going to be much cheaper to lay coils in the bottom of the pond than to drill a well or dig deep trenches. Climatemaster endorses the procedure on their website. In my mind it would most likely be worth trying it at your location, with the understanding that you might end up digging trenches to increase the capacity later. Perhaps it would be worth digging the wide trench to and from the pond, and then laying the coils out, into the pond, and back. It might be enough to lay coils out through the pond and then bring the return back in the same trench. I imagine your contractor has ideas about this.

Any way to increase the volume or retention of the pond? Is it spring fed or does it depend on rain?