Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
a_curvin

HR 2454/2998 Important Energy Bill affecting owners/builders

a.curvin
14 years ago

okay, yes I am a realtor and I know that discredits me intstantly to some. But this is important information all builders and property owners need to be aware of:

Houses Passes Climate Bill with Energy Labeling Exemption

The U.S. House of Representatives approved H.R. 2454, the

American Clean Energy and Security Act by Reps. Waxman (D-CA)and Markey (D-MA). The bill, re-numbered H.R. 2998, includes NAR-supported provisions which were championed by Rep. Perlmutter (D-CO) that exempt existing homes and buildings from the bill's energy labeling program.

After multiple meetings to discuss the Waxman-Markey bill, the NAR Land Use, Property Rights and Environment Committee directed NAR staff to concentrate on the real estate provisions in the bill. As a result, NAR issued calls for action and made this a talking point for Capitol Hill visits during its recent Midyear meeting. Overall, Realtors succeeded in making a number of positive changes to the bill. Thanks to Realtors, the House-approved bill:

-Limits the energy labeling provisions to new construction only;

-Prohibits the Environmental Protection Agency from regulating

carbon emissions from residential and commercial buildings under

the Clean Air Act;

-Eliminates an early proposal to bolster a private right of

action so that citizens could sue over minor climate risks under the Clean Air Act; that proposal is no longer in the bill as passed by the House;

-Provides property owners with significant financial incentives, matching grants and the tools to make property improvements and reduce their energy bills; and

-Establishes a multitude of green building incentives for HUD housing, including a loan program for renewable energy, block grants and credit for upgrades in mortgage underwriting.