Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
torot

Geothermal Newbie Questions?!

torot
15 years ago

Hi ALL!

So...I'm a Newbie to this whole Geotherm Idea! I understand how it works. But I don't think in my case it'll do anything for me!

I live in Western MAss.

My house, the main part was built in 1873, classic hand Hewnd Beams Etc. It doesn't look like it from the outside, because of Aluminum siding.

What I have is an OLD Utica Boiler, at least 45 years old, with a Becket Burner that's about 8 yrs old. I also get my Hot Water from it. No indirect Hot Water Tank. I have radiators. I understand that an exchanger usually works with Hot Air, and a Forced Hot Air system. I don't have this. The other thing I hear is Radiant Heat, well that won't work for me either. Is there something I can do with replacing that Boiler?

I had most of my drafts taken care of when I had the House Insulated with the Blown Stuff from the outside.

Are there Tax Credits out there? Or are we waiting till after the Elections?

Many thanks, Ted

Comments (2)

• razl
    15 years ago

Forced air, radiant heat, and radiators are all heat distribution types. Geothermal will work with all of these. The reason forced air is most common for a new contruction is that you get heating and central A/C with the same ductwork.

Retrofitting geothermal in your case would involve installing a ground loop (vertical or horizontal) most likely unless you have a large pond nearby to tap into. As far as credits, they are minimal. I got a $300 credit for our install but I think that too is being phased out.

You'll need to get some bids to see if the payback is worth it for you. In general, the numbers look more attractive with new contruction versus retrofitting. Good luck.

• ericfletcher
    15 years ago

We installed a 5-ton Waterfurnace heat pump a couple of years ago and are very pleased with it. We do burn some wood too (now only ~4 cords/yr) but only as an adjunct to the GHP.