Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pawprint1

a/c fan

Pawprint
18 years ago

Cost wise, is it okay to run the fan all the time? I have a 5 degree difference from downstairs to upstairs. Running the fan helps to even this out and make the house the same temperature.

I don't know any other way to accomplish this without wasting engergy?

Is it normal to have a 5 degree temp difference between floors? I know heat rises....

Comments (4)

• rabadger
    18 years ago

The basic reason why you can not balance the system to get the same temperatures is the air distribution system.

If you have a seperate main duct feeding the 2nd story you may be able to have a zoning system put in. This way you would have a thermostat on each level.

• booster
    18 years ago

If you have a situation where the AC doesn't run very often you can easily get 5* difference between floors when the fan is off. Rebalancing the registers and ductwork flows can help a little, you will wind up with the opposite temp difference when the AC is on, usually, though. If you have open staircases between the floors it is going have a temp difference from the heat rising. Running the fan contiuously works well, but will cost a bit. Make sure the AC blower has a high efficiency motor on. Ceiling fans and strategically placed box or oscillating fans also help.

We have a wide open 3 level house and put a box fan at the base of the lower level stairs, blowing up into the staircase and there is a ceiling fan in the top level above the staircases. With the two fans on the temp stays very good in those rooms, but still varies in the other areas of the house. If we have a party or such, we put away the stand alone fans and run the furnace/AC fan contiuously, which works great.

• bry84
    18 years ago