Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
smile3_gw

Please help me! I need low cost ideas.

smile3
19 years ago

I am planning on building a house in the next couple years and am trying to find info on how to conserve energy without having to spend large amounts upfront. I would love to be able to put in many energy saving ideas but wont be able to get a large enough mortgage to add in things like solar collectors.

Thank you in advance for your help.

Comments (34)

• jancarkner
    19 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I'm not an expert, being only at the planning & researching stage, but I'd suggest that you look into building with ICFs ... it is (supposed to) cost only 5% more, but will be alot more energy efficient. It is becoming much more common in Canada, so you can probably find a local builder familiar with this process.

• RCMJr
    19 years ago

That's a WIDE open question . . . . .

I built 6 years ago . . . and did much the thing that I think you're trying to do. There's lots to be done . . . .

No matter your style of construction; try to incorporate passive solar . . . that is heat gain from the sun when you want it; and not when you don't. This will probably vary tremendously depending upon your location / orientation / lot where you're gonna build. Orientation of the house can have a great impact too.

Consider light tubes, such as Solatube . . . can really brighten up a room or rooms on dreary days . . . precluding the need for turning on the light lots of times.

Use ALL fluorescents . . . and I don't mean just the long tube things that CAN be ugly in some situations . . there are CFL's ( Compact FLuorescent bulbs ) that now are available in a myriad of shapes / styles / spectrums. They may seem "expensive" to buy . . . but if you sit down and go through some simple math it becomes obvious that it is really much MORE expensive to stick with incandescents.