Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jamesbodell

Compact flourescent lights/dim at startup

jamesbodell
16 years ago

Do all CF turn on dim and brighton as they warm up? This is what prevents me from using them.

I have a few now but want to remove them becuase of this issue.

Comments (16)

• DavidR
    16 years ago

They all do this, but some of them are more pronounced than others. The enclosed globes are usually the worst.

OTOH, it seems to me that the Sylvania (Osram) helicals start very close to full brightness.

I've been using CFs for almost 15 years, so by now I'm used to some of them starting a bit dim. You probably won't even notice it after a few months.

However, if you can't get used to it, one solution, albeit a somewhat wasteful one, is to buy the CFs a bit brighter than you really need - say, a 20 Watt instead of a 15 Watt. That way they're bright enough almost immediately.

• solargary
    16 years ago

Hi,

We have all CFs in the house, and none of them have a problem with being dim on startup.
    I've never seen the dim at startup in the spiral type bulbs, but we did replace 4 of the globe type CFs that took 20 seconds or so to come up to full brigtness -- the replacements come up to full brightness with no delay at all.
    Not sure how you determine before you buy them that you are not getting the ones that are initially dim.

Here is a side by side comparison that Pop Mech ran between an incandescent and 7 CFs:
    http://www.popularmechanics.com/home_journal/home_improvement/4215199.html?series=15
    Pretty interesting, every one of the CF's beat the incandescent in every category!

To me, CFs are one of those no-brainer things that not only save you lots of money but also save a lot of greenhouse gas emissions.

Gary

• DavidR
    16 years ago

All the CFs I've ever used have taken a minute or two to come to full brightness. Linear fluorescents do this, too.