Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ives44

Which is more energy efficient?Brick or vinyl siding

ives44
19 years ago

I was always under the impression an all brick home was more energy efficient than a vinyl sided home. While mentioning to a friend that I wanted our new home to be all brick, because I thought brick was more energy efficient than the vinyl sided home he claims it is not.Now I am wondering who is right.

Like I mention in another post this will be our first new home and I want to get it as close to right as I can. I am a complete newb at this and again would appreciate this forums members opinions. Thanks again Bob

Comments (5)

• bydesignprez
    19 years ago

Brick probably has a slight edge in terms of energy efficiency but not by much. The insulation in the wall come from what is underneath the outside sheathing. Check with your local housing department to see what is the minumum and recommnded insulation factors and then the house should meet that standard.If you are buying an existing house, some rules of thumb are that 6 inch walls can contain up to R 20 whereas 4 inch walls contain only R12. The more insulation, the greater the initial costs, but the less energy the house will consume. It's a trade off and depends what part of the country you are in as to what makes sense. I am on the frozen prairies so our minimum now is R20. The overall tightness of the structure and window numbers, placement and energy efficiency all have an important bearing. Check out the Dept of Energy or housing for more information on how to assess this.

• RCMJr
    19 years ago

I'll toss in that IF brick vs vinyl ( or any other material ) makes any difference in the "efficiency" of a place; the insulation is woefully inadequate. Siding material is NOT where energy efficiency comes from; insulation and tightness IS.