Return to the Embroidery Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Thread Jamming in Janome 300E

Posted by babygoinplaces (pocketchangers@aol.com) on
Tue, Nov 29, 05 at 18:56

I have used my Janome 300E for a couple of weeks with no problems at all. Last nite I was doing a tiny cross stitch pattern and the thread jammed up on me underneath the design. I took it apart, got loose threads out of the bobbin area, rethreaded the machine, etc. It kept happening. I let the machine rest and stitched out a beautiful design today for my son's Christmas present. I got started on #2 a bit later and all it will do is jam! I'm to the point now where I have to go buy more fabric for his blanket because I have had to cut off 9" twice, affecting the length!

What is making it jam? Tension? Thread? Any ideas?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Thread Jamming in Janome 300E

I am not an expert but have you given the bobbin area a good cleaning out? Sometimes fuzzies can affect machine operation.
Colleen

o

Cross stitch is dense so you may have to add some more stabilizer on top or underneath or adjust the tension a bit tighter. If you are using fleece, try using a ball point needle and cut-away stabilizer.

Since you have the scraps, I would do some test runs to make sure you have the best combination before ruining more good fabric.

o

Hope someone reads this...ha

I tried Madeira polyester thread and it loops like crazy on my 300e - tried different backings, fabrics, tensions, and i never made it through a monogram without loops!

I want to use polyester for it's durability, has anyone worked with isacord poly on their 300e?

otherwise, i'll go with the madeira rayon...

thanks!

o

It could well be the design has not been well digitised. There may be a part that is wa too dense. Try a design that you know stitches out well. On fleece, I use WSS on both sides and have had no problems.
Ahhprods, my 300E loves the Mettler poly threads.

o