Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
heather_nj

Important Features for an embroidery machine

Heather_NJ
18 years ago

I am a beginner and want to ensure I buy the best machine available for me. What are some features you find you cannot live without?

Comments (3)

• keepeminstitches
    18 years ago

An automatic needle threader is almost essential with all the thread changes involved with embroidery. My machine (a Bernina artista 200) has a free-hand pressure foot lift that is operated with a knee thingy (technical term). I bought an optional thread stand that holds 13 spools of thread; can't imagine life without it. A good, long tweezers (for holding embroidery thread up so you can trim the jump stitches when the machine "travels" from one part of the design to another...you want to clip those before you switch to a new color)and embroidery scissors are essential. The scissors to get have a curved blade that enables you to get over the hoop edge easily. I don't quite know how to explain those scissors, but you'll see them in catalogs like Nancy's Notions and at any store that handles embroidery machines (the clerks will know exactly what you're asking for).

High quality stabilizer (to go behind the design) is essential. I was told the stabilizer, when you hold it up to the light, should be uniform in density with no thin spots that you can see. It's a good idea to have several types of stabilizer (iron-on, tear-away, cut-away, sticky back, water soluble)on hand b/c you'll use different ones for different projects. A good rule of thumb, tho, is when in doubt, use cut-away. Use a water soluble "topper" for towels and loopy fabric. Lay the "topper" over the area to be embroidered (under the pressure foot)so the loops don't get caught. It also keeps the design from sinking into the fabric of the towel.

Good luck! It's lots and lots of fun, and a lot to learn!

Mary L

• joansews4u
    18 years ago