Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
anniedeighnaugh

Tips for machine embroidery on veil

Annie Deighnaugh
11 years ago

x post with sewing forum

I have committed (or should be committed) to make a veil for an upcoming wedding. The bride wants a cathedral length veil but with some designs near the bottom with some beads and sequence.

I can either hand embroider or machine embroider. I don't have one of the fancy embroidery machines, but would have to do free hand embroidery on the machine. I've never done it before. Are there any tips and tricks I should know about??? Also, the veil she saw that she liked was embroidered in silver colored thread...is this something I can use in a machine? I figured then I could use invisible thread to attach the beads on top of the base.

Otherwise, I suppose I can revert to hand embroidery....

Comments (56)

• Annie Deighnaugh
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks dancingirl....no I'm not getting paid...this is my wedding gift to the bride.

Here are some pics of my plan...paper cut outs of the lace, sheet instead of veil, quick sketch of a monogram.

• dancingirl_gw
    11 years ago

Well, you are just precious--that bride is truly blessed. The veil is going to be beautiful---no one will even look at the bride! That would be gorgeous on the train, as well.
    Loved seeing the pix. BTW, it seems we are all alone in our conversation. I've noticed that this site doesn't get visited as often as it once was. But I still ck for new postings. I got email notice of your posting, but had to log in to see what your handwork will look like. Wish you had an emb machine for the monogram! I could loan you use of one of mine, but I'm way off in TN.

• Annie Deighnaugh
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks dancingirl, I appreciate the offer.