Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
amyjackson_gw

HELP!!! Thread tension and needles

amyjackson
17 years ago

Thank you to all of you who responded to my question several weeks ago. I haven't tried the baby blanket yet, but will do so soon!

I am having a consistent problem. Each time I embroider with my 270, there is a lot of the fabric that shows through the design. For example, I was working on a dish towel (NON TERRY) and it was white, and I could see a lot of white in my desgin-the towel was "poking through" if you will. I read something that suggested that my thread tension was not set correctly, but have NO idea what it should be set on for various materials. Some of my designs I have had to go over twice so that some of the towel (or whatever) wouldn't show through. Any suggestions? I have been sewing for several years, and taught Home Economics for 7 years, and have never had such problems...and that was using machines that were more than 20 years old!

Also, are there special needles that are for EMBROIDERY on KNIT, or just the needles that are for knits in any machine? I did a sweatshirt for my son, and his name looked TERRIBLE! Thank you for your time!

Comments (7)

• Islay_Corbel
    17 years ago

I don't have the same machine as you but have you tried using a wss topper?

• stitchntime9
    17 years ago

If you read your instruction manual, there should be a chart covering this topic including the types of thread to use. The videos don't cover everything that makes reading homework and practice required. I've been sewing over 45 years, hand embroidery even longer, and still go through the manual page by painful page with each new machine. Technology makes every machine different with the little details adding up to big problems and frustration if you don't read the manual several times, study, and practice the manual.