Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jenn_gw

Stitching a name on fabric

jenn
17 years ago

Hi, I frequent some of the other forums but I have an embroidery question that I hope someone can answer.

I'm planning to make quillows (a quilt that folds into a pillow) for Christmas gifts this year.

I would like to each child's name outside the pocket in red embroidery thread. I have never done this before, and I do not have an embroidery machine. I thought I'd locate some tracing paper at the sewing store, tracing the letters onto the fabric, and, using a simple embroidery stitch (backhand? chain stitch?) stitch over the markings with red embroidery thread. I think I can print a page with the name in a huge font and trace that onto the paper.

Two questions:

1. Are there any problems with my technique?

2. What type of embroidery stitch would be best, and how many threads do I use?

Thanks,

Jen

Comments (11)

• stitcheasy2003
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hello
    Check your manual to see if it does Monogramming. Then check if it has satin stitch and does applique. If it does do that.