Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sewcrafty2000

Problems with Brother PE-150

sewcrafty2000
19 years ago

Hi, I am new to the embroidery world. I recently purchased a Brother PE-150 that was reconditioned. It seems to embroider just fine except the designs are always a little off. The color doesn't fill in all the way to the edge and the outline is somewhat off. I always use an iron on stabilizer underneath and I've tried different types of thread. Currently I have 100% polyester machine embroidery thread in the top and the bobbin. So far I've only tried to do designs on tee shirts or sweatshirts for my kids. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. My husband is convinced that it is because the machine was reconditioned, but I think I'm just not doing something right. I also would like to know the best way to go about making patches with it. Thanks!!!

Comments (12)

• redpenny
    19 years ago

Try to design on cotton.Use and old pillow case or a old sheet cut-up.Also use stablizer,Also use a 50 wt thread in the bobbin.Try each design.Also make sure you aren't hooping too tight and pulling your material.

• MaryinMichigan
    19 years ago

Does you material shift as it is embroiderying? Also, stablizer is very important and on something thin you might have to use a stablizer on the top and botton. I've used cotton and rayon thread with my machine (I also have a PE150). It depends on what type of design you are doing will determine the type of thread. I like doing redwork and I use cotton thread on those designs.

• msmeow
    19 years ago

You may also need a layer of water soluble stabilizer or tulle on top, especially on sweatshirts. This will keep the stitches from sinking into the fabric.

Have you tried some test stitching on a more stable fabric? Your problem may be that the stretchy fabrics are not stabilized enough.

• sewcrafty2000
    Original Author
    19 years ago