Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sewnice50

new to embroidery and buying a machine. HELP

sewnice50
17 years ago

My husband this morning said he wants to buy me an embroidery machine for Christmas. He would like to stay under the $2000.00 range and used is also fine with me. I am an experienced sewer and have a very nice Janome memory machine I paid $1200.00 for about 7 years ago. I have no experience with the embroidery machine world. After doing some research here I have several questions:

Should I go for a machine that does both embroidery and straight sewing?

I just started to do machine quilting and saw one of the machines has regulated stitches. That sounds great for quilting but do I really need to spend the extra money just for that feature or is there more to it that would make buying the combo machine worth it?

I want an embroidery machine mostly to do monogramming.

Which is best for me?

Do I need a larger hoop option than the 4 x 4 I have read about? or is the 4 x 4 good for most monograming?

I appriciate your input, I have already come far just reading this forum.

Sue

Comments (4)

• Islay_Corbel
    17 years ago

Since you already have a nice sewing machine, I would suggest that you would be better off with an embroidery only machine. I have seperate machines and it's great to be able to set one up to embroider, and sew away on the other. I have the Janome 300E and love it. So easy to use and it sews beautifully. There's a 350E out now, I think that cuts threads and uses USB keys. Great! The sewing fields are 4X4 AND 5X7 which is great for a ot of designs. You are very limited of you only have 4X4. The only software you'll need to buy is something like Embird - cheap and works well.
    Good luck in your search!

• stitchntime9
    17 years ago