Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
amyjackson_gw

Embroidering on knit baby blanket

amyjackson
17 years ago

I am new to embroidery, and loving it so far. My husband bought me a Brother 270D as a "starter" machine, and I have a question. Is there anything I need to know about embroidering on knit? It is a baby blanket that I want to give as a gift, and so it needs to look nice! Also, is there anything I need to know about embroidering towels? THANK YOU for your input.

Comments (3)

• Islay_Corbel
    17 years ago

I haven't done knit yet, but I'm about to as well so would love some advice.
    As for towels, what I do is the following.
    Hoop a piece of water soluable stabiliser. Place a template of the design on the towel and pin in place. Use a quick spray of 505 glue on the stabiliser and stick the towel to it. Centre the design under the needle so it's just where you want it. Remove template. Slide another piece of water soluable stabiliser under the needle and sew. This will ensure that the stitches don't sink into the towelling. Rinse several times after to remove WSS. The towel may feel a little stiff but after a few washings the embroidery will be lovely and soft.
    For the knit, I've bought some Floriani stabiliser that irons onto knit to give it more body. I'm going to try that before sticking onto the stabiliser.

• stitchntime9
    17 years ago

Did you view the video that came with your machine? Brother is usually pretty good about covering topics like this.

Always do test sewouts with different combinations to find the right combination...good practice too.