Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jenholmes01

Singer CE-100 Owners-Post Here!

jenholmes01
18 years ago

Just wanted those of us with the same machine to give each other tips. How do you measure where something is going to go or where you want it to go? What about larger pictures? How do you do these? Thanks from one who is still learning!

Jennie

Comments (33)

• Heather_NJ
    18 years ago

I was considering a Singer CE 100. I am a beginner and want to make sure I am not over my head. Is it easy to use?

• stitchntime9
    18 years ago

When you say beginner, are you saing learning to sew, learning to machine embroider, or both?

I have a CE-200 and the embroidery was easy to learn because I also have a Brother PE150 that was used first. If you go to the Singer site, you might be able to view the manual in PDF form and get an idea of what the CE series machines are all about. This machine connects directly to our computer via USB to embroider so both have to be in the same room close to each other (will not work with a wireless connection) unless you have a laptop to hook up to the machine. The embroidery unit will work through a USB hub. You can multi-task on the computer while the embroidery unit is running. Also watch your pricing to make sure all the software is included and not an add-on at additional cost.

The things I don't like about the CE series for sewing is that there is no measurable guide to tell you what your sewing stitch length and width is on the sewing end of the machine, you have to listen for the beeps that really aggitates after a while, constantly sew test samples to get the right combination because there are no markings, had to put a stitch guide on the 5/8" mark because the line is hard to see, and in 40+ years of sewing, the first time I ever saw a buttonholer go bezerk. I was so frustrated sewing with this machine and wasted sewing time, it was put away and the Kenmore 19365 is now in use.

• deedee_Tx
    18 years ago