Return to the Embroidery Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Steps for embroidering custom designs

Posted by randman1 (My Page) on
Fri, Aug 13, 04 at 19:20

Hi. It's me again. The visor covers I managed to sew together went over well at www.bonnevilleclub.com . So well in fact, other members have expressed interest in custom embroidery for their cars. I'm entertaining the idea of producing them myself rather than outsourcing as I had done with mine. But, I need some help in understanding the steps to embroider an original design on a home machine. Here is what I understand so far (feel free to correct me as I'm a beginner):

1) Create image. I've been told that the Club has full licensing from GM to reproduce authentic logos. I can scan these images or might be able to obtain an image file.

2) Digitize. I've seen software from $200 to $1000 to do this. I've also seen services that will digitize an image sent via email and returned in the format for the specific machine.

3) Download to memory card. I would need one of those magic boxes and a memory card to transfer the file from my PC to the card.

4) Plug in the memory card and embroider.

Am I close?

Here is a link that might be useful: The embroidered visors

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Steps for embroidering custom designs

Yes, those are the essentials.

One caveat - the digitizing process has a long learning curve - it simply eats up tons of time in the beginning. If you enjoy fussy computer work it can be fun, if you don't it can be an incredibly frustrating waste of time.

Look for a sewing machine dealer near you, and see if they offer any digitizing classes. Maybe you can "stick a toe in" to see if this is the way you want to go.

Good luck with your decisions! And the visors look great!

Mary C

o