Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rdh1994

What is crewel embroidery?

rdh1994
18 years ago

Hi I am a cross stitcher but have seen in several stitchery catalogs "crewel embroidery". I have seen embroidery but have never done it, how is crewel emboidery different? I think there is some beautiful pictures that at first glance in the catalogs I ooh and ahhh and then see it is crewel emboidery and not cross stitch. So I'm thinking maybe I should learn this! Can it be self taught though an instruction book or is it best to find someone to show me?

Lora

Comments (18)

• stitchntime9
    18 years ago

Crewel embroidery is done with 2 ply wool. There are a miad of different stiches, about the same as embroidering with floss.

When you get a kit, the instructions are pretty clear on how to do some of the non-cross stich stitches.

For a first project I would start something small, say from Sunset Designs or one of the other manufacturers.

• rdh1994
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thank you for your reply. I was afraid I wasn't going to get any responses...this doesn't seem to be a real active forum. So embroidery is done with floss like cross stitch, crewel is done with 2 ply wool (like yarn?). Which is nicer done up embroidery or crewel embroidery? Which do you prefer? Have you tried both?
    Sorry for all the questions.

Lora

• besbaum
    18 years ago

The 2 are just "different". Generally embroidery (cross-stitch) can be a much finer, detailed design. Crewel is generally a larger type design. I actually prefer counted cross-stitch, but it's simply preference. Both are fun to do and you can get some beautiful projects. Try a smaller sample/design of each, and see what you like.

• msmeow
    18 years ago