Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tomgirl_gw

Newbie/which Embroidery Machine

tomgirl
16 years ago

Hi!

I am an inexperienced sewer w/machine. I have a product idea and I think it would be a better route for me to learn to embroider than to source it out somewhere. My quest to find embroiderers has left me frustrated. Here are my questions:

1. Which machine would be easier, yet give me the variety of stitching I need. I will be stitching small pieces and will use more of the alphabet than images, but will use some images.

2. Can I buy a machine to do what I want for under $1000.00? Just curious on how much I will need to spend.

3. How many colors can one use on one image? Do you need to stop and change the thread alot?

I am patient and have great computer knowledge. I am a bead artist. Crafting and art have been my life for my entire life. I am fiffffffffffffffffffffffity. arg!

Any thoughts and opinions would be greatly appreciated!

Love these forums and the gals who share their knowledge! Thank you in advance for your help!

Comments (5)

• golassiego
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hi tomgirl! I'm interested in responses to your posting, because I am also a newbie who is interested in purchasing/learning an embroidery machine, perhaps for different reasons. I am a beginning quilter, and envision incorporating machine embroidery with some quilts, however, I'm about to move out into "the sticks" with very little support available. I have less than a year in the big city to learn SOMETHING about machine embroidery, so I'm interested in knowing which machine to buy. I'm also pretty good with my computer, and enjoy using it. I did visit a Bernina dealer, and they have an "embroidery only" machine (no regular sewing; that might interest you), and it was about $900 with the requisite software. Hope you get some more helpful responses. Good luck!

• tomgirl
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Golassiego-