Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tangledupinthreads

Adhesive stabilizer residue on towels

tangledupinthreads
15 years ago

I have used Sulky's Sticky + to embroider some hand towels. Has anyone found a successful way to remove all of the sticky paper from between and inside the letters? I am giving them as gifts and would like for the back to look presentable. Some came off easily but the rest wants to pull the loops of the towel out if I continue further. They are actually a cheaper towel to be used as kitchen towels and I'm not sure if higher quality terry does the same -- I'm new at this.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Comments (9)

• lenamae
    15 years ago

I have found that using sticky backing, it can pull off some pile. And anything used on towels should be wash away. I have had best luck with just a tear away/wash away backing, and the water soluble toping so threads won't sink into pile on the top. It should all dissolve away with one washing. It is almost impossible to get all the stabilizers off on an intricate design. The toping can usually just be spritzed with water, the thin clear toping will dissolve easily. Maybe just put a little note in with the gift, that any stabilizers remaining will wash away with one washing.

• tangledupinthreads
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Ienamae, thank you so much for your advice. I keep reading and reading about products and trying to educate myself but it's so nice to get information from other's experiences. Do you have any trouble hooping thick bath towels? I got the Sticky to avoid having to hoop, but not happy with the result as I said. Have you ever used an adhesive spray with regular tear-away, or the wash-away that has an adhesive when you moisten it? I would like to hear how that works for you or for anyone else who reads this. I am slowly learning and loving it! Thanks

• mugsisme
    15 years ago