Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ilovepink_gw

How much do you think it costs you to embroider something?

ilovepink
19 years ago

I have a Bernina sewing machine and I think I can add the software to embroider. This would be great for me since i love to give sheets, and pillow cases with monograms.

I'm trying to figure out though, if it's worth it to upgrade to this feature.

How much is the hidden cost of thread? Is it a lot?

I had a jacket embroidered when I was getting married that said "Bride to Be" in pink thread and on one line. It was about two inches high and in a script text. It cost me 45 dollard to do that.

I also had a top sheet and two pillowcases embroidered with a monogram of MLM. That cost me $60.

I think I could do it cheaper. Am I wrong?

Comments (5)

• msmeow
    19 years ago

Hi, Pink - I am still fairly new to machine embroidery (only a year or so). I don't think the thread is that expensive, but the stabilizers are! And all the experts say that you should not scrimp on your stabilizers. Also, if you are embroidering on towels or something else with a texture, you have to put wash away stabilizer on the top, too, to keep the stitches from sinking into the fabric.

I really enjoy the embroidery I have done - my machine allows quite a bit of editing at the machine, and my latest "toy" is digitizing software so I can edit existing patterns and create my own!

HTH!

• redpenny
    19 years ago

Pink,
    depending on how often you intend to embroider items?
    The cost of stablizer are expensive and depending on the brand of embroidery thread you use can also be expensive.
    If this is something you are going to do a lot than it is worth the money.I do embroidery and I am always looking for sales to keep a stash of items I know I am going to need.
    Embroidery can be a expensive hobby but paying other to do the same for you can also cost because you are paying for their supplies and time.LOL

• stitchntime9
    19 years ago