Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pandora429

Embroidering on Diapers

pandora429
15 years ago

Does anyone know the correct way to embroider on a dsq Diaper? I am trying to personalize some for my grandson, and the thickness seems to be a problem for me? If I use a 2-6-2 or 4-6-4 is that too thick?

Also, do you need a stablizer on the top, and bottom of the diaper inside of the hoop??

Thanks so much for all of the help!!!

Comments (19)

• joansews4u
    15 years ago

I don't hoop diapers. I use a bottom stabilizer in the hoop & spray it with adhesive spray & stick the diaper to it. I am not sure what the numbers you gave means.

• pandora429
    Original Author
    15 years ago

PLEASE explain how not to hoop a diaper!!
    I am new to this diaper embroidery, have always used a sulky top, and cut away bottom. I dont how else to embroider without a hoop, how does it move if it is not in the hoop?????the numbers represent the thickness of the diaper,side, middle side 2/6/2 Do you use a prefold, or the gauze..Any help would be greatly appreciated, also do you use a sharp or ball point needle on diapers??

• maryanntx
    15 years ago

I'm not joansews4u, but I will explain. Joan said - I use a bottom stabilizer in the hoop & spray it with adhesive spray & stick the diaper to it. So the diaper is stuck to the stabilizer which is in the hoop. So it moves with the hoop. I basically do the same thing, but I don't use adhesive spray. Instead I pin the diaper onto the bottom stabilizer, and then sew a basting stitch around the design before stitching the actual design.

Hope this explains it for you.

• pandora429
    Original Author
    15 years ago