Return to the Embroidery Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Thread Breaking...HELP

Posted by acsgamlen (My Page) on
Tue, May 26, 09 at 15:08

I have a Brother PE700II and so far I have really liked it. I have made all kinds of things and then all the sudden my thread has been breaking. It will stitch for about 15 seconds, bunch up and fray, and then snap. I can't get anything made because it does it so often. I have tried to change the needle. I am not doing anything differently than I usually do and I have successfuly embroidered quite a few things since getting the machine. I am new to embroidery so I don't really know where to start to figure this out.

Also, why is the outline of my design not always lining up with the design itself? Sometimes it stitches it on outside of the design instead of outlining it?

Thanks in advance!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Thread Breaking...HELP

Hi, I am not an expert but I have been doing ALOT of embroidery for approx. 8 years now so see if any of this makes sense. For the thread it sounds like too much tension is being put on the thread from the spool, do you use a thread net? it helps the thread feed off the spool more evenly, change your needle again, even a new needle may have a "spur" catching the thread. As far as the outline goes, it may just be the the design itself, if it is more than one design doing it, what type of fabric are you emb. on? anything with a "nap" needs a topping to keep the fibers down flat, I use tulle instead of water soluable, it's cheaper and works really well hope this helps a little

o
RE: Thread Breaking...HELP

Pick a part of the machine and watch what happens when the thread breaks. Then, do that for another part of the machine, and try to find where the trouble spot is.