Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
stitchem

Use PED Basic to digitize my own designs?

stitchem
19 years ago

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to machine embroidery, and am trying to learn more by reading this forum.

My question is if I buy PED Basic (box & card) can I use it to take my own designs that I create on my computer, and write them to the card that's included, then embroider them? My machine is the little Brother PE-300S. The PED Basic looks to be the least expensive one, and I'm trying to keep my costs down. Am I missing something? Is there another way to do this without spending several hundred $$ ?

Thanks very much for any suggestions!

Stitchem

Comments (37)

• Laura_IA
    19 years ago

Hi Stitchem-
    Sorry, but the PED Basic won't do digitizing. It's only used to transfer already digitized designs to the card. PE Design is the Brother digitizing package. It's very expensive and has a fairly steep learning curve. Good luck!

• msmeow
    19 years ago

Stitchem- Laura is right. You need digitizing software to create embroidery designs on your computer. If you already have digitizing software, you do need a reader/writer box to copy the designs onto the card that goes in your machine.

If you want to learn to digitize, check out Embird Studio - it's the least expensive digitizing program I've seen. I have basic Embird and it's very easy to use.

Here is a link that might be useful: Embird

• stitchem
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Thanks Laura & Msmeow for your replies. I guess it isn't easy or inexpensive to do this. But I would like to try.

So if I go ahead and get Embird, and use it to digitize my designs, then would I be able to save it on a PED Basic card, then use that in my embroidery machine? Are those two compatible? Has anyone tried this?

Thanks very much!
    Stitchem

• stitchem
    Original Author
    19 years ago