Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
judy5a

Brother PE 150 - What else do I need?

judy5a
18 years ago

Hi all: I have a Brother PE150, which I am just learning to use. Which is the most "simple" box to purchase to download free designs from the internet?. I have all the computer requirements, and i just want to download and stitch free designs offered, not to digitize my own stuff (maybe for later) but for now, just to get some new fonts or simple animal patterns. If I get the vikant ultimate box, which seems to be highly recommended, do I have to subscribe to embird or can I get free designs from that website without purchasing anything else but the box and a card. Others who have the Simplicity Smart Box (which I can buy locally) plese give me your input also. AARGH...I am so confused! Help. Thanks.

Comments (4)

• stitchntime9
    18 years ago

Embird is an additional program that does many things and is completely separate from the reader writer box thing you are inquiring about...so you don't get confused.

Your main concern is getting the downloaded design from the computer to the box and card and then to the embroidery machine. Just about any brand box will do that and remember to ask for a .pes formatted card that your machine uses. These boxes work similar to a computer external disk or floppy drive.

I would first thoroughly learn the ins and outs of your machine and practice page by painful page. It will pay dividends later. You will also find out what type needles and extra hoops your machine uses.

You also need extra hoops, needles, machine embroidery thread and various stabilizers in addition to the box so you may have to take the box cost into consideration.

• keepeminstitches
    18 years ago