Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
andi0214

Best thread, stabilizer, etc?

Andi0214
19 years ago

I'm new to machine embroidery - just got a new Brother Disney machine for Christmas and finally am trying to figure it out! I'm wanting to buy a thread "package" online, seems the best way to get lots of colors of thread to get started. Am wondering what the best brand is, and also is rayon or polyester better? What is the best stabilizer to use? I bought some Stitch-n-Tear. Was trying to put a name on a t-shirt last night & got all knotted up in a hurry & ended up with a hole in the shirt! Tried again & was successful. Wonder if I didn't have fabric tight enough in hoop? Any tips or suggestions would be wonderful!! Thanks!

Comments (7)

• joly
    19 years ago

I have a Brother and a Janome and both machines love ARC thread. I use Polyester and it has a nice shine to it. I buy the mini kings. I bought a starter set of 48 off ebay but then found a lady on ebay who sells all 288 colors divided into 4 kits so once you buy all 4 you have all the ARC colors. www.melcomart.com runs a special sometimes tho for all 288 colors for $295. I just bought some single spools from www.craftsebazaar.com for $2.35 each.
    As for stablizer it depends on what you're embroidering. I have a variety on hand, tear away, cutaway, solvy for on top, I also use tulle (bridal tulle) on top when doing towels, holds the loops down and then tears away when you're done. On tshirts I iron on totally stable on the back then spray adhesive (505 spray) to my stabilizer. You don't want to stretch the knit as your embroidery will be all messy when you take it off the hoop and the knit goes back in place. I use Totally stable on any material that has stretch to it and have had wonderful luck.
    I find that you can't go "cheap" on your thread or stabilizers if you want your item to look nice.

• Andi0214
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Thank you for the good tips & info!

• joansews4u
    19 years ago