Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
safetylady_gw

Need Machine Selection Advice

safetylady
17 years ago

Hi everyone! I'm new to embroidery and I'm looking to purchase a machine for an online store that my best friend and I are going to start. We will be embroidering names and perhaps small symbols or logos onto items. I want a nice machine that will enable me to create a logo and then send it to the machine. I doubt that I would be doing anything other than smaller designs, and I would not be doing whole shirt fronts.

I checked out some of the Viking machines at JoAnn's tonight, but the one the rep showed me was a bit pricy (the Designer 1). I'm looking for something along the lines of $800 or less.

Can anyone help me decide? If you need more info, please ask and I will reply.

Thank you all in advance for your help!

Comments (6)

• joansews4u
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

The current SewNews magazine has a pull out section on embroidery machines this month.

A machine is not going to allow you to create a logo. That's a software program. My software was $1500 & I still haven't learned to use it. Your cost expectation is low for what you plan to do.

• safetylady
    Original Author
    17 years ago

I don't understand... then what is the $500 software that Viking has? I don't need digitizing capabilities yet, I just want to be able to create a logo. I understand that the software is what creates the logo, but I still need a machine that is able to accept designs that I've made.

• colleenny
    17 years ago