Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
scootersgirl_gw

Singer XL6000 vs.Viking Designer SE

scootersgirl
19 years ago

I'm new to the embroidery side of sewing but I want to buy a machine that I won't have to or want to replace in the next 5-10 yrs. DH has made it clear that $$ is no object. These are the machines I have looked at sofar. Does any one have any in put?

Comments (11)

• redpenny
    19 years ago

I also looked at both and I like the Singer XL600 better
    because of the Automatic Threading SystemÂ
    Wind-in-Place Bobbin SystemÂ
    Auto Thread Exchanger With Larger Thread BaseÂ
    Endless BobbinÂ
    Singer-patented quilting stitch
    Fully Upgradeable Via Smart Card Slot
    Pop Up Instructions

I like the endless bobbin nothing worst than when you are embroidery and run out of embroidery thread!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And now you have to go back to were you left off!!!!!!!!!!!!

• sherwood38
    19 years ago

When this question came up in the past I posted what experience I had.

Our local JoAnn's used to have Singer inside the store which was operated independently. The manager of the Singer area told me that she quit because the quality of the Singer machines was now terrible because they were all being made in China and she thought they were inferior. She had been a sewer for years and had a Singer-an older one which she loved.

When Husqvarna Viking went into JoAnn's she was hired as the Manager and absolutely fell in love with the Viking machines. She had many years experience and told me that there was absolutely no comparison and that the Husqvarna machines were made in Sweden and that they had a superior quality control and great warrantees etc.

I had a NewHome/Janome machine and ended up buying the Des 1 after starting out with The Rose and then the 1+, so have owned Viking machines now for about 10 years and am a huge convert!

I hope this helps you to decide-good luck!

Pat

• redpenny
    19 years ago